The Spoken Word

Attributed to: Chris Halderman

This past weekend I had the opportunity to meet some really talented artists. They were poets, singers, rappers, dancers– pure artistry.

The majority gave a spoken word. I’ve always been interested in spoken word. I mean, the words that come together from the individuals’ mouths are oftentimes unbelievable.  

A spoken word sometimes tells a story or life experience. It is sort of like a poem or rap that comes together with the repetition of similar sounds in two or more words. Oftentimes, as the artist paints the picture of what’s escaping from his mind, there is a message for all who listen.  It just amazes me how they use witty catch phrases intertwined.  I am smitten.                                                                                                                                                                                   

Attributed to: nicasaurusrex

“Man, I wish I could be a rapper!” I told my friend. You know what he did? He laughed at me.  When I really thought about it, though, it was funny to me too. I’m a writer, but I would be fairly nervous to get onstage and perform like these individuals. They were incredible. Actually, these artists spoke truth and the words that flowed from their mouths reminded me of an individual who is the BEST lyricist….Jesus.  

He spoke the Word. No pretense. No witty humor. No catch phrases… just simply the Word. It moved mountains, healed people of sickness and diseases, and a host of other miracles. I want MY words to flow like that.

3 Comments

Filed under Inspiration

3 responses to “The Spoken Word

  1. Ms. Moe

    love the word…speak sis!

Leave a Reply

