Don’t Tell Me What to Think!

 

 

Attributed to: AMagill

 

  

My canvas= my thoughts

My canvas symbolize my thoughts.

I think big, not small. I think happy thoughts, not negative. I believe in myself, not doubtful.

However, there are other “artists” who try to paint on my canvas with their own thoughts and opinions of me (telling me who I should be).

My colors= my emotions

My colors are a metaphor of my emotions.

What colors I choose to use to paint my world is totally up to me.

I choose carefully. I choose wisely. I choose those that will enhance my self-worth.

No one is allowed to use my brush to paint my reality.

 My price = my self-worth

I am beautiful. I’m smart. I can achieve.

I perceive myself as being the best.    

However, many come to place their own price tags on my canvas.

They tell me that I shouldn’t have high esteem. They tell me that I should “tone down” my appeal.

Ultimately, they sketch out how they feel about themselves onto me.

Instantly, I erase their lines, blot out negativity, paint over their lies, and rip off the price tags they placed on MY canvas.

 How have you been painting your world?

I used to allow others to take control of my canvas until I realized…they will never master this type of art. Yes, they may paint regularly on their own canvases, but I’m the Designers’ original. Everyone can’t paint my reality. Why? Because some will paint my world with the drabbest colors, others will put a price on me that’s way too high or way too low. Either way, I’m left with false pride and/or low self-esteem. My mind is my sanctuary. If I let another artist paint, besides the Master Artist, I will be just like every other painting sitting on the shelf. Make sure your mind is not being controlled by others. Be Unique, Be You, Be an ORIGINAL.

23 Comments

Filed under Inspiration

23 responses to “Don’t Tell Me What to Think!

  1. Lakia,
    This is so awesome. When I first saw the title I was instantly intrigued to read your post. What you have said here is so powerful, yet few understand this. This really reasonates with me because I truly understand what you mean. This is so poetic. God bless you sister.

  2. Shanice

    Kia I LovE this blog!!! Did u paint that pic on the wall?

  3. Seriously, you ROCK.
    Thanks for being such an inspiration:)

  4. @Charles — Thanks Charles, I’m glad you enjoyed it…
    @Shanice- Thanks Shanice!! I actually did not paint this someone from flickr (AMagill http://www.flickr.com/photos/amagill/ ) did– I don’t know him personally. I can paint and draw though, just don’t do it too often.
    @Shea- Thank you so much for stopping by 🙂 . Really hoping to inspire the world lol

  5. eternallyhopeful

    Lakia-
    WOW! This is beautiful! You should look at getting this published. Very insightful and POWERFUL! Keep writing! You definitely have a gift! I pray that God blesses you and continues to guide you on His path for your life.
    Blessings to you, Roxanne
    http://www.eternallyhopeful.wordpress.com

  6. This is AMAZING. I absolutely love it. You are so talented and so strong. A total B.A.D girl if you ask me! 😉

  7. Pingback: Don't Tell Me What to Think! (via Lakia Gordon) « Tasha's joys

  8. Pingback: Posts I Liked This Week | christopher cocca

  9. Wow, you just ignited an idea for my next post :)! Awesome post full with wise words. Cool! K

  10. You’re definitely creating something quite beautiful and special with your words, Lakia. I’m totally inspired!

  11. @eternally– thank you 🙂 I never thought about publishing it, perhaps I’ll look into it!
    @Ms. B– Awwww, thank you!
    @randomlyabstract– thanks a bunch 🙂 Hope you left inspired.
    @mybusiness– So cool! Please, let me know when you write it! I would love to read it!!
    @SweetiePie– I’m so glad you’re inspired!! Thanks so much for coming by.

    @tasha & cocca– THANKS so much for reposting and mentioning my writing on your fabulous blogs 🙂

    Everyone, thanks so much for the love on this post. I wrote it back in December and didn’t know when to post it. The time felt right. Truthfully, I didn’t know if anyone would like it, but I’m glad you enjoyed it. Stay tuned for a series I’m going to do pretty soon. It will be similar to this.

  12. Lakia: I love your spirit and your outlook on life, and self. How true, you paint your own canvas, name your own price, be your own amazing you!!!! I will be back……. 🙂

  13. Unlike you I have zero artistic talent. Cant draw a straight line with a ruler.
    However I can and do paint my Tiny house on a Tiny farm with the colors of a farm, green vegetable garden, white rabbits, feathered footed chickens, African black belled ‘hair’ sheep and an assortment of cows, pigs and donkeys.

    Thanks for visiting my humble blog

  14. I really love the partition in that painting. It just adds so much more importance to the whole scene. I feel like, I saw the art, I lost it (hence value it more) and ahh there it begins again 🙂

  15. Hey Lakia.

    Great post as always. 🙂 I actually just found a little fable-type story which relates very much to what you’ve posted. It’s called “The Painter” on a page on Facebook called “gr8quotes” which you should definitely look up. 🙂 I reposted the fable on my blog too if you want to check it out.

    I just thought you’d be interested since you’ve liked my posts like this in the past.

    Keep up the great work. 🙂

    Tash x

  16. Oh yes..I feel inspired because its quite an awesome post!

  17. love this blog ..Lakia you cool.

  18. @vanessaleigh– thanks so much for stopping by 🙂
    @pobept– that’s cool!!!
    @Nabeels– thanks 🙂 I was going for that effect hehehehe (I guess lol)
    @rubyjazz– thanks for sharing that with me! I went pass your blog and saw what you meant; it was great!
    @randomly– I’m glad you were INSPIRED 🙂
    @batasi– who me?? I’m cool? (*blushing) lol thanks for stopping by!

  19. Yep, I began reading this FIRST as an artist, but CONCLUDED reading this as another INDIVIDUAL. Good, very good passage!

  20. That was so true. I really needed to read that today.

  21. So beautiful your blog, and so impressive your words, how I loved. It is so nice to meet with you once again, but this time through your colourful world. Thank you, Blessing and Happiness, nia

  22. I am surprised I had not commented on this before! Well done! I passed it on.

Leave a Reply

