Extreme Makeover Volunteer!

The Final Product!

Today I had the opportunity to be on the set of Extreme Makeover: Home Edition. I picked up trash around the neighborhood, broke down tables, emptied garbage cans, threw away cardboard boxes, and mingled with some of the crew members; it was great day.

First off, I had no idea they were even coming to our town. However, when I found out, I jumped at the opportunity to be a part of such a great cause.

The house that was being built for the family (as you can see ) was absolutely beautiful. The story behind the family that will reside in this work of art is even more intriguing.

Their story:

Beverly Hill adopted 6 children and she and her family volunteer throughout the Hampton Roads area. Read more HERE

So, what did you think? Well, if you were moved and feel compelled to become involved with your community, then you should definitely consider getting more involved. Here’s how:

The Process:

  1. Always be on the lookout for opportunities. Check your community websites and local newspaper for upcoming events.
  2. When you find one, jump on it!
  3. When you are selected, make sure you do what’s asked of you. Don’t be there just to look good, but really be selfless and work hard at helping others.

 …simple, huh?

At the end of the day, it doesn’t have to be Extreme Makeover to get you

Lakia Gordon on set -- I looked kind of rough at 8am lol

excited to volunteer. Check out your local homeless shelters, nursing homes, churches, etc.—I’m pretty sure someone would enjoy having your skills. I’m telling you, being involved with such a great cause is such a rewarding experience.

 

When was the last time you volunteered your time?

7 Comments

Filed under Special Events

7 responses to “Extreme Makeover Volunteer!

  1. Great share! Even something like picking up trash has a butterfly effect in our communities.

  2. Awesome post Lakia. I also just wrote about volunteering. It’s good for the soul.

  3. What a wonderful story and fantastic example you are setting. I’ve volunteered in many different ways over the years. You’re right ~ there’s nothing as rewarding as helping someone else.

    You have a beautiful spirit. I love the message of your blog.

  4. Thanks so much for stopping by to visit me on yesterday, Lakia. Our church feeds the hungry about 4-5 times per year, and I never leave tired or angry, in spite of the personalities, etc. I am sure this is because of the overwhelming feeling of giving something back and doing something positive for others, which always does something positive for me, too.

    I have been inspired and encouraged so early on this morning by your thoughts on volunteerism and on making my own decisions. This latter post was so timely for me and I dearly appreciate your willingness to put it out there. Blessings today and always, my sister!

  5. @Christopher– I agree! If one person saw someone doing it, another person would jump on the bandwagon. BTW– your blog is AMAZING!
    @Tammy–it really is good for the soul! It makes you feel so good.
    @Sandra– isn’t it just amazing?? (volunteering) and thank you for the compliment 🙂
    @simplybelinda– awesome outlook on volunteering!! “Never tired or angry”. Also, I’m glad you were inspired and encouraged 🙂

  6. Very awesome. Volunteering is a wonderful thing, makes the soul feel renewed. 🙂

  7. Volunteering is a wonderful thing! Last time I volunteered was for a rescue that got flooded with over 300 matted dogs. I did shave downs…lots of them.

Leave a Reply

