Seriously, Move Outta My Way!

photo: freevectorfinder.com

I was driving the other day on the highway and I was angry. I was behind the slowest car in the world and he didn’t want to move any faster. Literally, the lane was 35 and he was going 25—-10 miles under the speed limit. Ugh. I definitely wasn’t being impatient with the guy whatsoever, but it was time for him to move and the drivers behind me felt the same way too; they kept beeping their horns. 

As I’m waiting for him to speed up, I realized that it just wasn’t going to happen. No matter how frustrated I became he wasn’t going to go any faster. So, the next best option for me was to pass him. The type of highway I was on (there is oncoming traffic) wasn’t ideal for passing. First, it makes me nervous and I always get tense to think that another car is coming straight towards me. But, this time, I needed to pass him as if my life depended on it. I waited for the oncoming traffic to pass and for the solid yellow line to become dotted again. When it did, I took off.  Naturally, I was nervous; however, once I passed him I was on my way! In the end, I was elated that I mustered up enough courage to weigh the oncoming traffic and then pass him to get home.  From this experience, I was able to apply the lessons learned to my everyday life.

First, there will be individuals who try to slow you down; they are known as: the moocher, the complainer, the doubter—they are a complete distraction and hindrance. When you continuously encounter them, know that there comes a time when you have to pass them up; they are complacent where they are in life and desire to keep traveling at the same speed. It may be ok for them, but you know that you’re tired of going the same pace— it’s time to go after your dreams. It’s a little nervous, at first, having to pass them up because you don’t know what to expect; however, it’s necessary that you take the lead. If you continue following them and allow them to set the pace for your life, you’ll never reach your destination in a timely manner. However, if you become bold, weigh the pros and cons and they check out, then it’s time to take off! Your destiny awaits.

Are you ready to chase after your dreams?

10 Comments

Filed under Inspiration

10 responses to “Seriously, Move Outta My Way!

  1. That’s a very powerful message, i often wish i listened to myself whenever i experience something similar to what you went through. Thank you for sharing your thoughts 🙂

  2. Thank you for sharing that powerfull message.

  3. robert2feather2011

    In your need for speed, I hope you don’t miss a turn in your road that would take you to a better in greater destination. There are some of us who have found a comfortable speed in which to face life. I apologize for all of us who take the slow lane, take that time that you spend behind us to reflect on what is around the bend in the road. We will all get to where we’re going at the time we were meant to get their. Drive safe and remember we’re not always in control/but are always controlled of with going on around us. Nevertheless that’s a good article and I like that. Hope to read more from you.

  4. @andy– thanks for reading 🙂
    @Chris– no problem, glad you enjoyed!
    @robert–wow, thanks so much for your insight, I was going to write from the perspective of the other driver next 🙂 but would LOVE for you to maybe chime in! That would be genius, you up for it?? That would be amazing to hear from you! Pleeeeease.

  5. In pursuit of inspiration. That was a good one.

  6. sidhu89

    u should try indian roads then ur life will not depend on any pass…weather it is oncoming highway or watever…….passing becomes so normal that no have any sort of fear of it

  7. Finding this post couldn’t be more perfect timing. I am seeking to follow my dreams and it seems that encouragement has been set before at every intersection. I have been dealing with the slow drivers in my lane along the way and am, too, learning to pass them. Thanks for writing.

  8. I love this post. As a 20 something year old living in NYC, it is nearly impossible not to get caught up in the race of life. Sometimes this is a good thing, but sometimes I just want to slow down.

  9. First of all, you’re REALLY beautiful.
    And this post just made me smile !
    I hope you like MY poems. 🙂

Leave a Reply

