Marriage Episode: Getting Married

Episode 2: Why I’m Getting Married

 

 

photo: bridal-shower-games.com

 

When Tyler Perry’s hit movie, Why Did I Get Married?, burst onto the scene a few years ago, it had everyone (at least those I knew) indulging in introspection. “Why do people really get married? Or better yet, Why did I?” Back then I was uninterested in love and marriage, but now my interest is piqued. So, of course, I had to interview someone who was close to tying the knot for the Marriage Episodes. Here is what I uncovered.

            Engaged and ready to take on the world, I sat down and spoke with a soon-to-be married man.

“I want to be married, it’s something I’ve thought about for quite some time,” he said very confidently.

“How did you know you were ready for the next step?” I asked.

“Well, the path my life was headed, as far as career goes, I had to make some major decisions. I thought about it over and over again.”

Curiosity beckoned me to ask, “Did she give you an ultimatum? It sounds like you needed to go your way for your career and she had to go another if you didn’t make a decision.”

“No. It was a decision that I made based on love. Could I wake up without her being in my life? That question was difficult for me to even think about, so I chose the latter. I could not wake up without her being a part of my life, my journey. At that point, I knew I was ready to marry this woman.”

We shared much more throughout this interview, but I wanted to highlight the words that riveted my heart. It wasn’t exactly what he said, but how he said it that sold me. Literally, I could hear the passion that streamed from his voice. This twenty something year old was gushing with love and was not ashamed to declare his requited adoration for his fiancé. Soon, they will be married in one short month to begin their lives, or as he puts it, their journey.  

If you are married, Why did you get married? If you are engaged to be married or want to be married, Why do you desire to be married?

Next week you will learn of my reason, along with another young lady, on why we are waiting.

Additionally, as you read the episodes you will get a sneak peek as to some of the nuggets that surface in my new book, The Truth about Ugly Women, available for sale 11-11-11. Stop over and check out the website too!—www.thetruthaboutuglywomen.com .

3 Comments

Filed under Love

3 responses to “Marriage Episode: Getting Married

  1. Anonymous

    Hi Lakia, wanted to get in touch with you. I am getting back on the scene on wordpress again. How can I get in touch with you? Saw your facebook page but cannot message you? Do you have an email address? sorry to write on here?

  2. Anonymous

    My email address is taderera07@yahoo.com.au
    My facebook page personal/ministry is under Karen Taderera. Look forward to catching up and staying in link.

    Karen

  3. Anonymous

    Sorry, Karen Lee-Ann Taderera it is under on facebook. Would be great to link up.

Leave a Reply

