I Believe I Can Fly

If you believe you can fly, then why haven’t you jumped?

Photo: anupjkat

 

You’re standing on the edge waiting to dive head first into your dreams, but you hesitate. Small whispers in the wind hiss, “You aren’t ready! You aren’t good enough. Who told you this was possible? “ The vexing whispers gnaw at you until hesitation coils into fear; you can’t move. You were ready before, but now you second guess your preparation. “Am I properly equipped to do this? Can I really fly?”

Often we have dreams and aspirations buried deep within our hearts. We stand on the brink of creativity, but are unwilling to take the plunge. Our wings (purpose/destiny) have been specifically designed by God for us, but the swirling leaves (negative people) distract, and the short gusts of wind (disappointments) cause our eyes to water, thus blinding us. The vision of us soaring, everything we thought we were made of, becomes an afterthought. Years pass and, little by little, we retreat to our fortresses—our comfort zones. Now, our dreams are like mirages within the wind.

Have you ever found yourself in this situation? You believed you had the tools to be successful in your business and personal life, but insecurities, negative people and/or disappointments show up at your doorstep. Your waned confidence causes you to shrink back.  Once upon a time, I walked in those shoes. I allowed my insecurities, and others, to stop my progress. That was then, though. My once upon a time has now turned into a happy ending. “Greater is He that is within me than He that is within the world.” No longer do I look to myself, or others for strength, but I look to God. It wasn’t until I started to believe this Scripture that I began to soar without inhibitions.

What’s stopping you from living your dream?

Stay tuned for my new TEE line coming soon…

4 Comments

Filed under Inspiration

4 responses to “I Believe I Can Fly

  1. Hi Lakia, I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.

    http://wp.me/prUsv-3Nx

  2. Lovely photo and inspiring text. The question remains, ” How do we live our dreams… embroilled as we become in all of life’s challenges and pressures to live someone else’s dream?”

    Shakti

Leave a Reply

