I Can’t Believe I’m Unemployed

photo: The Life of an Unemployed Gal blog

Yesssss, your dream position has opened. Ecstatically,  you go online to fill out all the information requested—completing  a resume, cover letter, application, and you even take the assessment. Weeks pass by. “Why haven’t I received a call yet? I’m well qualified for the position!”

Well, you didn’t get the job or callback and are still unemployed because you didn’t press the SUBMIT button—none of your information was forwarded to the appropriate personnel.

This scenario plays out every day in our practical lives as dreamers. Plenty of us fill out the application (we create a business plan/goals), formulate a cover letter (we highlight our vision and qualifications, sure to knock anyone off their feet), and beef up our resume (we feature our skills), to find that we haven’t sent it to the proper recipients.  Or, you could be on the other end of the spectrum: “I did submit my information, but I’m still unemployed!” Well, did you follow up?

The movers and shakers are looking for you, but they don’t know who you are, and cannot invest in you if they don’t know what you can do.  A few short months ago, I was in the same predicament with Unwrapped International. I had a plan, but was not acquiring speaking engagements; I began to question my progress.  I told the Lord, “I’ve been faithful, writing the vision and making it plain and doing everything right…but still nothing!” And then He told me: “Faith without works is dead.” I had the plan, but I needed to put myself out there. I had to saturate my skills and talents in the proper outlets, and since the seeds were sown, then He would do the rest. Are you in the same situation? Well,  more than likely you already have the outline, now all you need to do is be PRACTICAL.

How you can do this:

  • Network meetings

-start to mingle with people in/outside of your field, you never know who you will meet

  • Enter contests

-sing, dance or write your way to success

  • Stay committed and consistent to the vision –I have been neglectful to my blog lately :o(, but not anymore ;o)

–give your readers something to look forward to frequently, whether you post to your blog, vlog, Twitter, Facebook, whatever

  • Attend workshops, seminars, retreats or anything else that has a large crowd of people to share your great skills and talents

*The intent is to saturate yourself into the marketplace AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE! You have the vision, now it’s time to show people what you’re working with.

What are some practical ways you reach your dreams?

2 Comments

Filed under Inspiration

2 responses to “I Can’t Believe I’m Unemployed

  1. You are wise beyond your years and that’s why you are one of my favorite people. :O)

  2. Kia, this is such a wonderful Word! Really inspired! I, myself, have been working on an eBay business, but not making anything thinking of moving on to Websites. Thanks! That’s exactly what I’m going to do! Love as always! You can follow my blog at pastoriva.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

